Skip to navigation bar Skip to breadcrumbs Skip to page content
Envelope icon E-mail Updates Teal square Text size:  a A A
You are here: HomeAbout the USPSTFOur MembersTask Force Member

Susan J. Curry, Ph.D.

U.S. Preventive Services Task Force

Task Force member photo

Susan J. Curry, Ph.D., is interim executive vice president and provost of the University of Iowa, where she also serves as a distinguished professor of health management and policy in the College of Public Health. Her work focuses on health policy, behavioral risk factor modification, cancer prevention and control, and community-based and self-help interventions.

Dr. Curry served as dean of the University of Iowa College of Public Health from 2008 to 2017. Prior to joining the University of Iowa, she held senior leadership positions at the Institute for Health Research and Policy in the University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health, University of Washington School of Public Health and Community Medicine, and the Group Health Cooperative in Seattle.

Dr. Curry earned her B.A. in psychology from the University of Massachusetts and both her M.A. and Ph.D. in psychology from the University of New Hampshire. She has served on numerous national advisory boards, including the National Cancer Policy Board of the National Academy of Medicine (formerly the Institute of Medicine), Board of Scientific Advisors of the National Cancer Institute, and the Interagency Committee on Smoking and Health Subcommittee on Cessation, as well as vice chair of the Truth Initiative’s (formerly the American Legacy Foundation's board of directors. Dr. Curry is a fellow of the Society of Behavioral Medicine and the American Psychological Association. She is a member of the National Academy of Medicine (formerly the Institute of Medicine) and a member of its Board on Population Health and Public Health Practice.

Dr. Curry has been honored multiple times for her influential work. She received the Joseph R. Cullen Memorial Award for Distinguished Research in Smoking from the American Society for Preventive Oncology in 2000, the Distinguished Scientist Award from the Society of Behavioral Medicine in 2001, and the John Slade Award from the Society for Research on Nicotine and Tobacco in 2015.

Dr. Curry was appointed chair of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force in March 2018. Previously, she served as a member of the Task Force from January 2009 through December 2014 and as vice chair through March 2018.

Current as of: February 2020

Internet Citation: Biography. U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. February 2020.

USPSTF Program Office   5600 Fishers Lane, Mail Stop 06E53A, Rockville, MD 20857