Skip to navigation bar Skip to breadcrumbs Skip to page content
Envelope icon E-mail Updates Teal square Text size:  a A A
You are here: HomeAnnouncementsAnnouncement Detail

Announcement of New U.S. Preventive Services Task Force Chair and Vice Chair

3/14/2016 – The U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (Task Force) today announced the appointment of Kirsten Bibbins-Domingo, Ph.D., M.D., M.A.S., as chair of the Task Force and Susan J. Curry, Ph.D., as vice chair of the Task Force. Dr. Bibbins-Domingo and Dr. Curry were appointed to these positions by the director of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. Dr. Bibbins-Domingo will assume the role of chair from Albert L. Siu, M.D., M.S.P.H., who will now serve as the immediate past chair.

Dr. Bibbins-Domingo has served as a member of the Task Force since July 2010 and was previously appointed vice chair in March 2014. She is the Lee Goldman, M.D., endowed chair in medicine and professor of medicine and of epidemiology and biostatistics at the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF ). Dr. Bibbins-Domingo is a general internist, attending physician, and director of the UCSF Center for Vulnerable Populations at Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital. She is also the director of the UCSF Clinical and Translational Science Institute’s training programs. Dr. Bibbins-Domingo’s research has focused on the epidemiology of cardiovascular disease; racial, ethnic, and income disparities in heath; and clinical and public health interventions aimed at chronic disease prevention.

Dr. Curry is joining the Task Force as vice chair. She is currently the dean of the College of Public Health and distinguished professor of health management and policy at the University of Iowa. Dr. Curry’s many professional activities include past service as vice chair of the board of directors of the Truth Initiative (formerly the American Legacy Foundation), member of the National Cancer Institute’s Board of Scientific Advisors, and associate editor for clinical practice for the American Journal of Preventive Medicine. She was elected to the National Academy of Medicine (formerly the Institute of Medicine) in 2010. Her research focuses on disease prevention and behavioral risk factor modification with a primary focus in tobacco use. Dr. Curry previously served as a Task Force member from January 2009 through December 2014.

Dr. Bibbins-Domingo replaces Dr. Siu as chair of the Task Force and will serve a 1-year term. Dr. Siu previously served as a member from June 2001 through December 2006, later serving as vice chair from March 2011 through March 2015 and chair from March 2015 through March 2016. He became the immediate past chair in March 2016.

Dr. Bibbins-Domingo’s and Dr. Curry’s professional biographies and biographies of all Task Force members are available on the Task Force Web site at

Current as of: January 2020

Internet Citation: Announcement of New U.S. Preventive Services Task Force Chair and Vice Chair. U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. March 2016.

USPSTF Program Office   5600 Fishers Lane, Mail Stop 06E53A, Rockville, MD 20857