U.S. Preventive Services Task Force Announces Appointment of Two New Members

2/7/18 – The U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (Task Force) announced today the addition of two new members: Aaron B. Caughey, M.D., M.P.P., M.P.H., Ph.D., and Martha Kubik, Ph.D., R.N. Dr. Caughey and Dr. Kubik have been appointed by the director of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality to serve 4-year terms.

Dr. Caughey is professor and chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology and associate dean for Women’s Health Research and Policy at Oregon Health & Science University in Portland, OR. He is the founder and chair of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention–funded Oregon Perinatal Collaborative, which aims to improve outcomes for women and infants through guidelines and policies working with all the health systems in the state. His research interests include the management of the second stage of labor, the impact of guidelines on obstetric care, the prevention of gestational diabetes, and the prevention of wound complications in cesarean delivery.

Dr. Kubik is the director of the Department of Nursing at the Temple University College of Public Health and the David R. Devereaux endowed professor in nursing. She is a standing member of the National Institutes of Health’s Community-level Health Promotion Study Section and a member of the Journal of School Nursing editorial advisory board. Dr. Kubik has more than 20 years of primary care clinical experience as an advanced practice nurse and certified nurse practitioner, serving youth and their families and low-income and minority populations in a variety of health care settings. Her research interests include the school food environment and the role of school nursing in obesity prevention.

Full biographies for the new members and all Task Force members are available at https://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/uspstf/about-uspstf/current-members.