U.S. Preventive Services Task Force Announces Appointment of Four New Members

January 5, 2022 – The U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (Task Force) announced today the addition of four new members: David Chelmow, M.D.; Tumaini Rucker Coker, M.D., M.B.A.; Carlos Roberto Jaén, M.D., Ph.D., M.S., FAAFP; and John M. Ruiz, Ph.D. They are appointed to serve 4-year terms beginning in January 2022.

Dr. Chelmow is the Leo J. Dunn professor of obstetrics and gynecology and interim dean at Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) School of Medicine in Richmond, Virginia. He serves as interim executive vice president for medical affairs at VCU Health, where he directed obstetric and gynecological clinical services at VCU Health as chair for more than a decade.

Dr. Coker is chief of the Division of General Pediatrics and associate professor of pediatrics at the University of Washington School of Medicine and Seattle Children’s. She serves as the co-director of the University of Washington’s Child Health Equity Research Fellowship, which is funded by the National Institutes of Health.

Dr. Jaén is a professor and the Dr. and Mrs. James L. Holly distinguished chair in the Department of Family and Community Medicine at the Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio.

Dr. Ruiz is an associate professor of clinical psychology in the Department of Psychology at the University of Arizona, where he is also director of health psychology/behavioral medicine training and director of diversity, equity, and inclusivity.

Full biographies for the new members and all Task Force members are available here.