2023 Appointment of New Chair and Vice Chair of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force

March 15, 2023 – The Task Force announced the appointments of Michael J. Barry, M.D., as chair and Michael Silverstein, M.D., M.P.H., as vice chair. Wanda K. Nicholson, M.D., M.P.H., M.B.A., will remain in her role as vice chair. Dr. Barry will assume the role of chair from Carol M. Mangione, M.D., M.S.P.H., who will now serve as immediate past chair.

Dr. Barry served as vice chair of the Task Force from 2021 to 2023 and as a member from 2017 to 2020. He is the director of the Informed Medical Decisions Program in the Health Decision Sciences
Center at Massachusetts General Hospital. He is also a professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School and a primary care clinician at Massachusetts General Hospital.

Dr. Silverstein, who served as a member of the Task Force from 2016 to 2020, will now return to the Task Force as vice chair. He is the George Hazard Crooker University professor of health services, policy, and practice at the Brown University School of Public Health and the director of Brown University’s Hassenfeld Child Health Innovation Institute, which is charged with eliminating health inequities in pregnancy and childhood for Rhode Island families.

Professional biographies for Dr. Barry, Dr. Silverstein, and all Task Force members are available on the Task Force website here.