

USPSTF Bulletin

U.S. Preventive Services Task Force Announces Addition of Three New Members

Experts in primary care, evidence-based medicine, and health disparities join the Task Force

WASHINGTON, D.C. – January 16, 2024 – The U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (Task Force) announced today the addition of three new members: Sei Lee, M.D., M.A.S.; Tonette Krousel-Wood, M.D., M.S.P.H.; and Sarah Wiehe, M.D., M.P.H. They are appointed to serve 4-year terms beginning in January 2024.

Dr. Lee is an expert in the health of older adults, with a specific focus on improving interventions that maximize benefits and minimize harms and the prevention and management of diabetes and dementia. A recognized researcher in hypertension management and medication adherence, Dr. Krousel-Wood works to advance the health of women, older adults, and vulnerable communities. With expertise in children and adolescents' health, Dr. Wiehe's research specialty includes using existing data to improve health inequities among youth. The collective work of these individuals has greatly enhanced the health of people across the lifespan.

"On behalf of my fellow Task Force members, I am pleased to welcome Drs. Lee, Krousel-Wood, and Wiehe to the Task Force," says Task Force chair Michael Barry, M.D. "These new members bring expertise in the delivery of primary care, specialized knowledge of preventive health issues, and a dedication to addressing health disparities. I look forward to working with them to advance our mission of improving the health of people nationwide."

Dr. Lee is a professor of medicine in the Division of Geriatrics at the University of California, San Francisco, and the Senior Scholar for the San Francisco Veterans Affairs Quality Scholars fellowship. Dr. Lee also chairs the American Geriatrics Society Quality and Performance Measurement Committee. He is a geriatrician and palliative care physician and has cared for patients in the clinic, hospital, and nursing home settings.

Dr. Krousel-Wood is a professor and the Jack Aron endowed chair in primary care medicine in the Tulane School of Medicine Department of Medicine. She is the founding director of the Tulane Center for Health Outcomes, Implementation, and Community Engaged Science (CHOICES). She serves in several leadership roles at Tulane, including as the associate provost for the health sciences, senior associate dean of faculty in the School of Medicine, and associate dean for public health and medical education.

Dr. Wiehe is the Jean and Jerry Bepko professor of pediatrics and associate dean of community and translational research at Indiana University School of Medicine. She is a research scientist at the Regenstrief Institute and adjunct professor of epidemiology at Fairbanks School of Public Health at Indiana University. Dr. Wiehe co-directs the Indiana Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute and leads its community engagement program.

Complete biographies of the new members are available on the Task Force website at https://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/uspstf/about-uspstf/current-members.

The Task Force is an independent, volunteer panel of national experts in prevention and evidence-based medicine that works to improve the health of people nationwide by making evidence-based recommendations about clinical preventive services such as screenings, counseling services, and preventive medications.



USPSTF Bulletin

Contact: USPSTF Media Coordinator at Newsroom@USPSTF.net / (301) 951-9203