

USPSTF Bulletin

An independent, volunteer panel of national experts in prevention and evidence-based medicine

U.S. Preventive Services Task Force Announces Appointment of Four New Members

Experts in prevention and evidence-based medicine join the Task Force

WASHINGTON, D.C. – February 8, 2016 – The U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (Task Force) today announced the addition of four new members: John W. Epling, Jr., M.D., M.S.Ed.; Diane Medved Harper, M.D., M.P.H., M.S.; C. Seth Landefeld, M.D.; and Carol M. Mangione, M.D., M.S.P.H.

Like their fellow Task Force members, these four experts in prevention and evidence-based medicine have been appointed by the director of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality to serve 4-year terms.

"I am pleased to welcome Dr. Epling, Dr. Harper, Dr. Landefeld, and Dr. Mangione to the Task Force," said Task Force chair Albert Siu, M.D., M.S.P.H. "They all have strong expertise in prevention and evidence-based medicine and will add unique clinical and research perspectives to the Task Force. We look forward to having them help us fulfill our mission of improving preventive care for all Americans."

The new Task Force members bring a breadth of expertise, which will enhance the Task Force's work in evidence-based preventive care. **Dr. Epling**, a family physician, focuses his work on evidence-based medicine, clinical preventive services, the translation of research into practice, and quality improvement. **Dr. Harper** is a family physician and obstetrician/gynecologist with expertise in the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of diseases related to human papillomavirus. **Dr. Landefeld** is known for his work in geriatrics, general internal medicine, and health care research, with the emphasis of his work aiming to personalize health care services for the elderly. **Dr. Mangione** is an internal medicine physician with expertise in diabetes, health disparities, aging, and public health. Full professional biographies for the new members are available on the Task Force Web site at http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/Page/Name/our-members.

New Task Force members are regularly appointed to replace those who have completed their terms. This year's outgoing Task Force members are Linda Ciofu Baumann, Ph.D., R.N., A.P.R.N.; Mark Ebell, M.D., M.S.; Jessica Herzstein, M.D., M.P.H.; and Douglas K. Owens, M.D., M.S.

"On behalf of my fellow Task Force members, I extend our gratitude to the outgoing members for their years of service and for the important work they completed as members of the Task Force," said Dr. Siu.

The Task Force is an independent, volunteer panel of national experts in prevention and evidence-based medicine that works to improve the health of all Americans by making

evidence-based recommendations about clinical preventive services such as screenings, counseling services, and preventive medications.

Contact: USPSTF Media Coordinator at Newsroom@USPSTF.net / (202) 572-2044